Section 9 - In-file delta technology

This section describes what In-file delta technology is and how it can be used to reduce size of backup




9.1.3.4 Delta merge process


    A delta merge will take place after a backup job is completed, the OBM will only initiate a delta merge request at the end of a backup job.

    As part of the request, the OBM will upload a copy of the backup set encryption key to the OBS which is hashed for security purposes.

    Once a merge request is received by the OBS it will be placed in the delta merge queue, the information in the delta merge queue only exists in memory for security purposes.

    As backup sets enabled with delta merge share a single setting, any changes in retention policy will impact on the availability of snapshots that can be restored from both data and retention area.



    Important:
    Before enabling the delta merge feature please review your data restore requirements carefully.



    Back to top