This section describes what In-file delta technology is and how it can be used to reduce size of backup
The delta merge process relies on the retention policy setting to decide when to merge delta files with the full file. Note: Delta merge does not apply to files in the retention area. Any backup sets configured with advanced or customized retention policy settings cannot use the delta merge feature. Any reference to retention policy in the context of delta merge implies delta merge policy. As backup sets enabled with delta merge share a single setting, any changes in retention policy will impact on the availability of snapshots that can be restored from both data and retention area. Before enabling the delta merge feature please review your data restore requirements carefully.