This section describes the process on how to restore files.
Click on the [Advanced] button, select the [Follow Link] checkbox to enable the follow link option.
When the follow link option is enabled, not only is the symbolic link or junction point restored, and directories and files that the junction point links to will also be restored.
The following table summarizes the outcome when a restore is performed with different options.
Follow Link |
Restore to |
Action |
Enabled |
Original Location --> Alternate Location --> |
Junction points are restored to the original location. Follow Link option enabled for backup - Target directories and files are restored to the original location. Follow link option disabled for backup - Target directories and files are not restored. Junction points are restored to the location specified. Follow Link option enabled for backup - Target directories and files are restored to the location specified. Follow link option disabled for backup - Target directories and files are not restored. |
Disabled |
Original Location --> Alternate Location --> |
Junction points are restored to the original location. No data is restored to the junction point's destination. Junction points are restored to the location specified. No data is restored to the junction point.s destination. |